Submitted by: Todd Kole on December 30, 2010


I wanted to drop you a note to let you know how happy I am with my second English Pointer from Indian
Creek Kennels.  As a hunter with no interest in field trials, I thought it was important to make everyday hunters
aware of how special your dogs are. Bella is just 1.5 years old and she hunts with more drive and natural
ability than any dog I have ever hunted over.  As an extra bonus, she is has been a natural retriever since she
was 6 months old.   I can't imagine how she'll perform as she gets to be 2-3+ years old!  Honestly, if she didn't
mature or improve at all, I think she would still outperform 99% of the hunting dogs I have seen in the field.  In
addition to her unbelievable hunting ability, I have to say she is also the perfect companion for the family.  My
three young kids can't get enough of her.  In fact, Bella follows my 6 year old out to the school bus every
morning and she regularly curls up on my 8 years old lap in the evenings. Bella is proving to be the perfect
hunting dog and family companion and I couldn't be more pleased. I also wanted to ask for your assistance in
finding a home for my 5 year old Brittany, Lucky.  As you know, Lucky spent a season training with you and
she is a fine hunting companion for someone looking for a closer ranging dog with a great nose and a solid
point.  After hunting over Pointers from Indian Creek, I realize the Brittany just doesn't compare in terms of
her range and her drive. If you know of any casual hunters looking for a very obedient and easy going
Brittany, I'd like to find her a nice, new home.  I'm not looking for a lot of money, just the right home where she
will be hunted and the owner isn't looking for the range or drive of one of your Pointers.  Please let me know if
anyone comes to mind, and if so, I'd be happy to bring her to your farm in order for a prospective owner to
see her in action.  Considering there are still a few more months of the commercial season remaining
(January - March), now is a great time for someone to hit the ground running with a trained dog.  For the right
person, Lucky will make an excellent hunting companion for years to come.   
Thanks again.
Todd
Submitted by: Shawn Penn on Aug 27, 2010

I have been an upland hunter for nearly 20 years. I have had the privledge to hunt in many states and over
many fine dogs. I can honestly say that no one beats the caliber or character of any dog that has had the
honor of being trained or been born of Indian Creek Kennels. Garry Malzone runs a first class operation and
has produced some of the finest bird dogs I have ever seen. If energy, tenacity, drive, determination,
discipline and heart are what you seek in an English pointer or GSP, look no further. I bought my first GSP
from Garry 14 years ago. She was my college graduation present. Not only was she one of the best bird dogs
I ever hunted with, she was truly my best friend. Whether it be pheasant, chuckar, grouse or wookcock she
had a natural desire to hunt. In the offseason, she spent her days hunting milk bones on my couch and
snoring in my bed. Jesse never once growled or bit and was excellent around children. Unfortunately, she
recently passed away and there is now a void in my life and in my heart. When the time is right I know right
where I will find my next best friend.
Submitted by: Rick Shoup on Aug 26, 2010

I have to say that out of all the years I have been around upland bird hunting and bird hunting in general I
Have never met a group of dogs (adults, juveniles and puppies) that I was more impressed with than Indian
Creek Kennels! I have to give a huge amount of credit to Garry Malzone and his operation and True
testament to one of the best breed lines I have ever seen. Garry has an ability to work a dog like I have never
seen. I know I only spent a few hours with him today but I am very lucky to have had the chance to see proven
Champion English Pointers at work. Not just his ability to work a dog with No words but the blood lines that
this kennel has is without a doubt the best group of dogs that I have seen anywhere in the United States. To
have had the opportunity to witness what I witnessed today was truly a once in a lifetime chance. Garry I can't
wait to have the chance to visit you and your dogs again. I am looking forward to not only seeing your dogs
and you again but Can't wait to have a chance to hunt on an extremely beautiful piece of property. Your land
and preserve is an awesome site to see!! Thank you for taking the time to prove to me without a doubt you
have The best grip on English pointer training and blood lines that I have ever seen. East, West, North or
South hands down the most impressive thing I have ever had a chance to see. I am very happy for the
opportunity to own a dog you have worked as well as the chance to meet you. Keep up the Great work, my
friend!! Thank you.

Rick Shoup Denville, NJ
Submitted by: Alex Badalamenti on Aug 16, 2010

I have been hunting at the Feather Bed Hunting Club for 31 years in Hunterton County NJ with 11 friends and
relatives. During that time, we have purchased dozens of german short hair and english pointers from several
breeders. We've had lots of promises and representations, have had successes and failures.
In 1997, a friend visited Gary Malzone of Indian Creek Kennels after reading an advertisement in a hunting
magazine. He purchased a puppy from Garry that turned out to be an outstanding bird dog. Over the years,
other members began buying puppies and dogs from Garry with results ranging from good to outstanding.
When I purchased my first dog from Garry in 2003, I was skeptical of breeders after being personally
disappointed. I was undecided between buying a puppy or a mature, proven, gun dog. Garry assured me that
after years of hard work, experience, and his selective breeding program, his puppies would perform to my
expectations - and he was right. Recently, I purchased a second puppy sired by his 2010 national shooting
dog of the year, CH Indian Creek Shine. In addition to being a great companion to my children and family, I
have been blown away by this puppies hunting instinct, passion, intelligence, and fine nose.
If you are serious about buying a solid gun dog, you owe yourself a visit to Garry Malzone. You won't be
disappointed.

Alex Badalamenti
Submitted by: Dave Altmiller on Jul 09, 2010

Having never owned, let alone trained a bird dog before, I must say that Indian Creek English pointers have
made the experience a pleasure. We purchased a puppy in 2009 for hunting first, house pet second. Our
pup, Ruby, has exceeded our expectations at both. She is a natural hunter and has pointed since she was 10
weeks old. My anxiety about my training skills are gone mostly due to the ability these dogs have. She is
fantastic with our kids, loves to travel and a constant companion. But as soon as that bird scent hits her nose,
she is all business. Gary Malzone is a true dog trainer who take pride in his business and especially his dogs.
He accomidated my family and I in ways other breeders would not. When you speak with Gary you'll find out
"it's all about the dogs!"
Submitted by: Ray Molinari & Janet Lemieux on Jul 06, 2010

We wanted to take a moment to first thank you for spending the time with us to get to know you and your
amazing dogs. We appreciate your time in answering all of our questions honestly and professionally.
Watching your dogs in action was truly a display of what a English Pointer does and what it should do in the
field. The “all business” attitude, composition, and intensity in their eyes was incredible. As we mentioned
while in your presence, your dedication and love not only for the dogs but the breed itself, is truly
remarkable.   Thank you for your dedication.Our pup is doing very well and getting along great with our other
dogs. He is now four months old and pointing everything in our yard. He passed with flying colors at his first
vet visit and we were told that we have a remarkable English Pointer pup and he will make an incredible
hunting partner to me and my Red Tail hawk. We are absolutely enjoying this lovable, full energy pup and
look forward to seeing him hunt this season.I would say to anyone looking for a English Pointer, please take
the time to speak with Garry - he knows this sport and more importantly he knows this breed - he knows their
habits and abilities and he will let you know if these dogs will be the right fit for you. Rest assured, if you
acquire an English Pointer from Garry Malzone at Indian Creek Kennels, you are getting the best!

Ray & Janet
Submitted by: John Dobson on Jul 06, 2010

A year ago I purchased a German Shorthaired Pointer puppy from Indian Creek Kennels in Hardyston, NJ. At
ten months old I brought him back to Garry to be trained. Two months later to my surprise I picked up a
completely finished, steady to wing and kill one year old dog. Since then I have literally killed hundreds of
birds and won several walking derby field trial stakes. I have hunted over all types of dogs on various types of
birds and nothing has come close to the quality of my dog. Bo lives in the house and sleeps in my bed and is
the most loving companion you can ask for. Dogs are a dime a dozen, quality bird dogs come once in a life
time. I would highly recommend visiting Indian Creek Kennels if you are looking for a quality bird dog.

John Dobson
Oakland, NJ
Dennis McFeely

Hi Garry,

Having watched your string of dogs in the field for me was a testament to the quality of your breeding for both
hunter and trialer alike.  I've personally learned so much about dogs at Indian Creek that combined with the
quality of your dogs you've added enjoyment to my hunts both on the preserve and elsewhere.  It also showed
me firsthand that a lot of the stereotypes of Pointers as aloof runoffs to be untrue.  We look forward to getting
our next Indian Creek pup.

Dennis McFeely
Gary Yuro

Hi Garry,

I could not  believe my eyes Sunday when I came up to Indian Creek to see my dog and what you had done in
two short weeks. He went from just pet to hunting dog . He was pointing live birds like he had done it for
years. It gave me chills to watch you work my dog and he had so much confidence in what you taught him to
do. Cant even think what he will be like when your done with his training. All I can say is THANKS!!!!!!!!!

Sincerely,
Gary Yuro
Michael Pimpinelli

Dear Garry,
I just wanted to extend my thanks for all of the time that you spent with me today. As a novice, I feel much
more confident knowing the training "building blocks" that you shared with me. Experience is the greatest
teacher, and with all of your advice, I'm sure to make less mistakes. The family is ecstatic to have Sugar back
looking forward to hunting at Indian Creek in the fall.

Sincerely,
Mike
Tom Aasbo

Garry,
Just a quick note to say how pleased we are with "Joe". As you know with our two young daughters and three
labs I was a little unsure on what to expect from our new pointer. I knew what his hunting abilities were but I
am shocked to tell you that not only has he become part of the family but is now the girls favorite! He stays in
the house with us and we leave him outside when weather allows and he will not venture beyond the yard
without us, even when the grouse are drumming 100 yards away!  
I needed a working upland dog to guide with, I never thought that this bird finding machine would be such a
loving pet as well. Feel free to use me as a reference for both your ability as a trainer and the quality of your
dogs and their bloodlines. Keep in touch.

Tom Aasbo
The Oxbow Lodge
Indian Creek Testimonials
September 21, 2017

Hi Garry & Jill,

Just wanted to let you know how much our family is enjoying Reagan.  She is a terrific dog--so smart and easy
to train, plus very loving.  We get many compliments on what a great looking dog she is.  We just love her!!  
She started obedience this week and is the star of the class already.

Just wanted to give you 2 an update!

Best regards!

Molly & John
July 20, 2017

Hi Garry & Jill,

Gary and Jill, we wanted to write to thank you, once again, for all the work and effort you put into training our
two year old German Wirehaired Pointer, Eva. It was AMAZING to watch her work with you and hold point
beautifully on birds.  You certainly have a way of getting the maximum performance from whatever breed you
are working with.  We are continuing to work with Eva, as per your directions, and I know she will perform this
next hunting season.  Thank you so much!!
Linda and Steve Quinn
July 25, 2017

Hi Garry & Jill,

World class breeder and kennel! Gary is the best in the business! We picked up Margaret Thatcher (Maggie)
yesterday - great pup (English Setter). Our first birddog (Abby) was from Gary and she has consistently been
the best dog in our club. Abby is 10 years old now and still a great hunter! Thanks Gary!
Ron Biore

March 7 2016

Hi Garry & Jill,

Just wanted to send you guys a short note and tell you how enjoyable it was to watch you and your String of
outstanding dogs compete in the 2016 NBHA National Open Championship. You can tell by the work you and
your dogs did there are many hours spent with each dog in your string. I hope to see you guys very soon.
Danny Robinson
Bremen, Georgia

Hi Garry and Jill,

I wanted write this review and thank you both so much for the training and care that you put into Kallie.  Kallie
is a British Lab that I bought from Garry and Jill back in Nov of 2015.  Although Garry is known for his
Shorthairs, Setters and Pointers, I was looking for a family pet and strong hunter combination because I have
a 6 week old baby and a 5 year old.  I did my homework for the last 2 years and constantly saw Garry/Indian
Creeks name while researching reviews on Google.  I decided to drag the family up north 3 hours to check his
new British Lab puppies in Nov, and bought one on the spot.  After a half hour of talking to Garry and Jill and
seeing his immaculate kennels, and dog’s behaviors, I knew I was buying the best Lab that I could buy.  Fast
forward 8 months, and Kallie was ready to be put in Indian Creeks Puppy Hunting class for 1 month.  I had
high expectations after all of the previous reviews, and let me tell you I could not have been more pleased
with what I saw when I went to pick her up the other day!  Granted she is a flushing breed, but let me tell you
that I could not pick her up till 1:30 in the afternoon on a 95 degree day, and this dog went out of the kennel
and into the field like a possessed hunter.  She was driving so hard and fast, and immediately found the Quail
we stocked shortly prior. What a sight to be seen, I have hunted Wildlife management Zones in South Jersey
my whole life and have seen my fair share of dogs working the fields, and I have never seen mature 4-5 year
old pointers ,GSPs, or Setters, let alone a lab, work as hard and fast as she did at 8 months old after only 1
month of training with Garry and Jill.  I can only imagine how much better Kallie will become with more
continued maintenance work and bird hunting in the coming months.  I might even send her back to Garry for
a 2 week course in November just to help ensure that Kallie continues to the next level that she is clearly
capable of excelling at.  

Bottom Line if you want a Top Notch Hunting Dog that has the best Breeding program in the country, then call
Garry and Jill.  They will take excellent care of you and your future family/hunting companion.  FYI, Garry
spent countless phone calls, day and late at night fielding any questions or concerns prior to my purchase.  
At no point did he try and make a pitch other than to please come up to his farm and he would show me his
dogs work when I had the time.
And I Highly Recommend sending your Dog for the 1 month training no matter how confident you think you
are at training your own dog.  It's worth every $$.  You get what you pay for in life, and if you want 10 plus
years of excellent hunting, then spend the money if you can, and let the Top Handler in the Country for the
past 5 years Train your Dog.  You will not question the decision once you see your dog in action.

And for the Perfect Family Friendly all around Dog, check out his LABS!

THANK YOU GARRY AND JILL!!!!

Mike Carullo, Family, and Kallie Carullo
I wanted to write you this review for your services and your amazing dog line.
My name is George Milne and I'm a 55yo hunter from NJ. I have been hunting since I was 10. Bird hunting
since 12. I used to train for years with Ed Monte, of Demerast NJ, who is no longer with us. Ed was a TOP
AKC Judge and Trainer.I have owned 9 GSP Dogs and hunted most of them. I trained one with Ed myself,
learning much along the way.When it was time for a new GSP, I purchased one on impulse from a very nice
couple in PA.I should have done my homework better.I took that GSP, Moe, to Garry for training. 2 weeks in,
after a lot of work on Garry's part, he had to call and tell me, “this dog wont hunt!”I was heart broken. Moe
remains a family pet.I spent some time talking with my wife and a lot of research on Garry's lines and decided
to purchase a male from one of Garry's upcoming litters. Boy am I glad I did! Garry has THE BEST German
Shorthairs IN THE COUNTRY! Bandit, is out of Indian Creek Smoke Screen and Indian Creek Bocephus.
I have NEVER experienced a better breeding in my life! Bandit IS ONE OF THE BEST, IF NOT THE BEST,
1YO gsp DOGS I HAVE EVER SEEN! Bandit has the intensity of a 3-4yo finished dog. Bandit will hold a
ROCK SOLID POINT for an hour if you left him stand! Bandit has the softest mouth I have ever seen in a
young gun dog. In 1 month of training with Garry, Bandit is Holding Point thru the shot, retrieving to hand with
intensity like no dog I have ever seen at 1 year old! Garry's training is second to NONE.
He trains with Praise and Love, and it shows in the dogs he puts out. Garry is the TOP HANDLER IN THE
COUNTRY the last 5 years in a row! Look him up on Google or check out Purina Pro for more info on him. He
is THEIR TOP HANDLER! In my mind, the TOP TRAINER TOO. I could go on and on, but I will say this. If you
are looking for a dog, whether it be an English Setter, English Pointer or German Shorthaired Pointer, DO
NOT HESITATE to contact Garry Malzone at Indian Creek Kennels. He has THE BEST LINES of all three...
I am SO confident in my recommendation, that you can contact me directly if you would like to discuss Garrys
dogs and training methods in more detail. I would not hesitate to get another dog from Garry in the Future.

Thanks very much to Garry and Jill for their expertise and caring.

George Milne
georgemilne@verizon.net
Submitted by: Matthew Sciacca September 26th, 2014

Hi Gary,                                                                                

Just wanna say  that I couldn't be more happy with the 10 month old English pointer I got from you. I never
seen a puppy so driven for birds ever in my life. The one month training program Gary did turned my pup into
a bird machine. It's beyond amazing what my dog can do after the training with Gary he is very dedicated on
what he does and he has a lot of experience. The day I picked up the dog Gary spent 3 hrs of his own time
on a Sunday showing me what he did in the month for training. Thank u very much and we will be on the
preserve working one on one with her this weekend.
Matthew Sciacca                                                                                     
Submitted by: Ed Busch September 2, 2014


Garry,
Words cannot express how impressed I was when I met you and your dogs. You see, I recently lost my 2 and
a half year old German Shorthaired Pointer due to severe seizures. She was not only my hunting partner, she
was my best friend. Losing her killed me. My daughter saw how depressed I was and my wife told her that I
needed to fill a void in my life. So, my daughter researched your website Indian Creek Gun Dogs and sent me
the link. At first I was hesitant to look at it but then I just did it, I looked. I was very impressed with what I saw
and read so I decided to give you a call. You were very down to earth on the phone. You asked me if I'd like
to come to your preserve and see how you and your dogs worked. When I arrived the day after I spoke with
you I was again very impressed by what I saw. Your kennels were well maintained, your dogs and those that
you train for their owners, the mothers and their puppies were all beautiful and well mannered. The way they
listened to you was just amazing. You told me that before I made any decision you would take me and a few of
your 6-7 month old pups-in-training up into the field and show me how they worked. Your dogs were so
steady to wing and shot. You said to me It's all in the bloodline, I just fine tune them! After seeing how well the
pups worked I could not wait to put my deposit on a female pup from your German Shorthaired Pointer litter.
As I sit here and anxiously await the day that I am able to come and get my new hunting partner and friend, I
have to let you know that I saw in you that you are 100% devoted to what you do and to your dogs. You are a
very talented trainer and an A-1 breeder. I would not hesitate to recommend you to anyone who was looking
for an excellent trainer and a top gun dog breeder.

Thank you,
Ed Busch-New Jersey
P.S. I thank my daughter for finding your website.........it's makes me feel really good knowing that my new
friend is from an A-1 Top Notch Breeder and Trainer!!!
Submitted by: Joe,Anthony and Family January 5, 2014

Garry: After 30+years of owning and hunting with pointing breed dogs primarily G.S.P breed and after the so
suddenly expected loss of my G.S.P. due to failing renal problems, my family and myself decided to add
another pointer into our home and life. While in pursuit of another pointer I had the opportunity to speak to
you and I scheduled an appointment to see the just born litter of pups that you had available around
Thanksgiving 2013.At this time I would like to Thank You and Jill for the day long experience that myself and
my son Anthony( an upland hunter of almost 20 years) had at your preserve, when we witnessed field working
dogs that honored point at 20 plus yards, seeing dogs so steady to wing and shot and watching the dogs not
even flinching or moving when they were struck by quail we flushed up in front of them while on point, can
only say if we had not witnessed the event I would have never known such discipline existed. Very impressed,
We are getting anxious to receive our new pup from you soon and yes it will be back to you for summer
training as well.
Thanks In Pursuit, Sport and Tradition Joe,Anthony and Family Monroe N.Y.
Submitted by: Todd Kole on Jan 04, 2012
Garry,

Yesterday was Lily's first pheasant hunt outside of her training at Indian Creek Kennels so I thought I'd drop
you a note to let you know how impressed I was. As you know, Lily isn't even 9 months old so I wasn't sure
what to expect. I couldn't have been more impressed! I left her in the car at first and started the hunt with my
2.5 year old Pointer from Indian Creek, Bella. Bella pointed 5 pheasants, we shot 4 and she retrieved all 4. I
put Bella back in the car, and gave it a try with Lily. Right from the beginning, I was amazed how fast she was
and how intent she was in looking for birds. She is still so young and playful, I didn't know how seriously she'd
hunt when out in the field but it was as if someone flipped the hunting switch on. She hunted like she had a
few years of experience under her belt. Her speed was amazing, she held her head high and she tore
through the heavy cover. I didn't even need to use the e-collar as she stayed within range at all times and she
listened when I called her. After about 5 minutes, she put the brakes on and locked on point for her first
pheasant. She didn't creep at all, she held for well over a minute as I flushed the hen. We made a good shot
and the bird tumbled to the ground. I was so excited to watch Lily tackle the pheasant and pick up the entire
bird in her mouth. She brought it right to me and dropped it at my feet - a natural retriever!! Lily proceeded to
point another 5 birds over the next 30 minutes. Her tail was poker straight on each one and, again, not once
did she break point. She held point each time and she retrieved every bird we shot! I was impressed when I
bought my first dog, Bella, from you but I have to say I'm even more impressed with this one. I couldn't be
happier to have 2 beautiful English Pointers. There isn't another dog I have come across with a better nose,
better drive, or better pointing/retrieving skills than Bella/Lily. I would hunt my 9 month old puppy ahead of
any seasoned, non-Indian Creek dog out there. What makes things absolutely perfect is the dogs couldn't
make better pets. They are not one bit hyper; they love living indoors and all three of my kids adore them.
Thank you for raising such awesome dogs.

Todd
Submitted by: Mike Carbonaro on Jan 04, 2012
Congrats on your wins over the weekend! I just wanted to touch base with you and give you an update on
Quinn....she has been absolutely fantastic so far, from the minute she came home she adjusted very well and
has been a couch potato at home, sleeping on the couch during the day and in the bed next to my wife all
night. She is extremely calm, docile, and doesn't jump, bark, etc. She is exactly what I was looking for, she is
a sweetheart and by far the calmest dog in the house I have ever seen. I talked to a friend of mine who
belongs to a club in Blairstown and they stock pheasants every week, so I think I am going to head over to
the club this week.
Submitted by: Thor on Dec 16, 2011
When I walked into Garry's kennel it was very clean and the first thing I noticed was that all of his pointers
were calm. I'd been to other kennels where the dogs were barking, jumping around and acting like nervous
wrecks, this was not the case with Garry's dogs.
Garry spent a few hours working different finished dogs and young dogs for me. I was more than impressed,
everything he told me over the phone he backed up in the field with his string of dogs.
I bought a pup out of Indian Creek Whitesnake. At 3 months I put him on some liberated quail. The very first
bird he got scent of he locked up into a solid point with a 12 O'Clock tail. He has tremendous drive in the field
but as soon as he comes in the house he has an "off" switch and is very calm. I couldn't be happier with my
pup
.
Last Updated
September 24th, 2017